How to change your PSN Name

Sony has officially rolled out the name changing feature. The first name change is free but other name changes will cost $9.99. If you’re a PlayStation Plus subscriber, you can purchase it for $4.99. You can roll back to your previous name for free and you can display your new name next to your old name for 30 days. It is only for PlayStation 4. The change will only work for games published after April 1, 2018. Here is how to change your PSN online ID.

Caution!

There are plenty of errors being reported and tweeted about the name change. PlayStation has acknowledged that some games will have issues during name changes. The following link will take you to the webpage from PlayStation that lists all the games and what issues will occur. Link

Some people have tweeted that their names haven’t changed immediately.

WARNING! Avoid Changing your PlayStation Network Name

Many PlayStation users have been clamoring for the ability to change their PlayStation Network (PSN) name for years. It turns out their cool name as a teenager isn’t as cool 10 years later. In Patch 6.10, it will give users the ability to change their PSN names by late November. However, if you read the fine print, there are some consequences if you happen to change your name.

PS4 system software 6.10 change online ID preview

Users received this message: “Not all games and applications for the PS4™, PS3™, PS Vita, and other PlayStation® systems support the Online ID change feature.”

You may lose access to content (including paid-for content) that you have acquired for your games, including content like add-ons and virtual currency.

You may lose your progress within games, including game saved data, leaderboard data and progress toward trophies.

Parts of your games and applications may not function properly, both online and offline.

Your previous Online ID(s) may remain visible to you and other players in some places.

First change is free for all users.

Second change will be charged at €9.99 / £7.99 (PlayStation®Plus subscribers receive a 50% discount).

If your previous Online ID violates any of the current Terms of Service, you will not be able to revert back to your previous Online ID.

You can revert to your previous Online ID once per account during the preview period.

Sub-Accounts cannot utilise the Change Online ID feature.

After you change your Online ID, it may take a few hours for some services and applications to reflect the new ID.

While the name changes are still in beta, users may be locked out of their own content that they acquired. This is incredibly awful for players who have paid for DLC, items, or other good purchased with real money. Your name being unchanged in front of other players also defeats the purpose of a name change. The name change would only be for yourself.

Hopefully, Sony will listen to the feedback from their fans as many users are unhappy.